Skip to content

Sick & Pop Music in Norway

January 28, 2011
tags: ,

On Wednesday evening, I started to feel a tickle in my throat. “Oh no,” I thought. “I’m getting sick.” There has been some illness going around Bø. I was really hoping to dodge the bullet, but yet again, my resistance failed. WIthin a matter of hours, my body temperature rose to 100.1 degrees Fahrenheit (thankfully, I brought my thermometer). I took a sick day yesterday to stay in bed and rest. The problem with being sick here is that I have no car or bus to get to class or the doctor’s office. Although I could probably walk to the school, hiking back up the hill to my dorm would probably not be a good idea. Alas. I missed my Norwegian class yesterday as well as the first International student coffee hour at the school. I had been looking forward to this event for over three weeks because they serve free waffles and coffee! I have not had either in nearly a month, and let me tell you… I loves me some waffles and coffee. I missed my first class this morning as well, but I showered, and I am ready to go to my afternoon class. Unfortunately, the classes that I missed this week require 80% attendance, and since they only meet once per week (if that), I’m going to have to try and make it to every class session from now until the end of the semester.

However, I had to prioritize because I want to be healthy for this weekend. There is a lot going on in Bø! Tonight, my housemate, Heidi, is having friends over and we are making homemade pizzas. There is an international dinner tonight at the “Spanish hour” (22:00) where there will also be free Spanish and French food. Finally, tomorrow night is the big 80’s party at Kroa i Bø (the student pub/club). It is supposedly the biggest theme party of the year. I paid nearly $30 for my entry ticket, so I really do not want to miss this one! Hopefully I will get a post up on Sunday about how my weekend went and if I was able to attend all of these events.

Finally, I wanted to share some music that is popular here in Norway (and probably other European countries as well). I thought this might be interesting for many of my readers and fellow music lovers. These songs are all in Norway’s version of the “Billboard 100.” I have selected some that I have been listening to lately. Let me know what you think! Techno/house music is much more mainstream in Europe than it is in the US. It takes some getting used to, but there’s definitely something enjoyable about it. None of these songs are Norwegian, they’re just played a lot in the clubs here and are popular nonetheless. American music is also very popular, but I figured most of you know what that sounds like.

Duck Sauce: Barbra Streisand (American/Canadian DJ duo)

Swedish House Mafia: Miami 2 Ibiza (Straight from the hard streets of Stockholm, haha)

Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina: Stereo Love (Romanian)

Shakira: Waka Waka (This was the official song of the World Cup 2010. Remember, soccer is far more popular in Europe than it is in the US)

Kobojsarna: La Perla (this is a graduation celebration song for high school seniors [I think])

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 28, 2011 12:49 pm

    Hope your feeling better! Thanks for sharing the music. LOVE Barbara Streisand!

    • January 28, 2011 11:22 pm

      Do you know that the Barbra Streisand song doesn’t actually feature Barbra Streisand?

  2. marianne permalink
    January 28, 2011 2:40 pm

    It sounds as if you are enjoying the social as well as the educational life there. Get well so you can learn and have fun!

    • January 28, 2011 11:26 pm

      Thank you! I already feel quite a bit better.

  3. Erin permalink
    January 28, 2011 8:27 pm

    Hope you feel better Lisa. Wish i could come and visit! We should take an Anderson family trip to Finland sometime, in honor of Grandma Shirley. By the way, I’m not sure if I said this before, but my semester abroad was hard as hell sometimes, but soo much fun in the end, and the memories I have are priceless. Can’t wait to hear more about your experiences.

Leave a Reply

