Skip to content

One Month in Norway!

February 3, 2011

Hello everyone!

This post is just going to be a random mash-up.

I have been putting off writing a blog lately because I feel like I haven’t had many interesting, insightful things to say. Therefore, I am just going to write a log of what’s been keeping me busy lately. I have officially been in Norway for a month! A lot can be said about that, but I will leave those reflections for a later entry.

On Friday, some friends and I made homemade pizza, and later on we went to an international dinner hosted by the Spanish and French students. We got to sample some of their traditional fare and socialize. I was still feeling a bit sick, but much better than the day before.

The next day, I went to Porsgrunn with Heidi and her friends. We went to the mall and did a bit of shopping. Later that day, we had our 80’s party. I was lucky that I felt well enough to partake in all of the fun! We danced to 80’s music and had a wonderful time. After our pre-party here at the house, we walked to the student pub, Kroa i Bø. The cover charge to get in was very expensive (~$30, but so it goes in Norway). I’m glad I went, despite the cost. There was an 80’s cover band that played called Nasty Riot. They had ridiculous outfits, and it was an all around good time.

After a long night’s rest, I woke up Sunday morning and went skiing with a new friend. We got fairly lost, but eventually found our way and made it back home.

Since the weekend, I’ve done a lot of travel planning. I am going to Oslo on Saturday with Heidi, Sharon, Megan, and Andy, and I am really looking forward to seeing the city properly. I flew into Oslo, but I didn’t get to see anything but the airport and the train station. We plan on visiting the viking ship museum, a sculpture park, and doing some shopping/sight seeing.

Later this month, I am taking a trip to Belgium! Ryanair (a cheap, no frills European airline) had a February sale, and we booked roundtrip airfare for about $8 per person. Of course, our train to the airport is more expensive than our plane ticket and hostel expenses combined. I am so excited to see Bruxelles (Brussels). We will only be there for about two days (since that’s all we can afford), but I’m really looking forward to it! I plan on eating Belgian waffles, chocolate, and drinking a Belgian brew at a local pub. Also, I get to practice my French skills which is really exciting for me. Belgium will be cheaper than Norway, so it will be nice to eat a meal at a restaurant and so some real (non-grocery) shopping.

Sharon and I are also planning our Easter trip to France and Italy. As of right now, the plan is to visit Paris, Nice, and Florence (or Venice). I have wanted to go to France for as long as I can remember. This trip will really be a dream come true for me, but we’ve had some difficulty finding good, affordable hostels (turns out they jack up the prices in Italy during Lent [go figure]).

Lastly, I am in the process of planning a Super Bowl party. The game will air on TV in Norway at 12:25 AM. The Americans (and a few cool Norwegians) will be tailgating and watching the Super Bowl on Sunday in one of the dormitory common houses.  I have arranged for a friend to bring a grill, and we are all buying food to make some traditional Super Bowl party grub. We plan to do it up right and cheer on Green Bay (well, most of us).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian (Andy's dad) permalink
    February 3, 2011 10:58 pm

    Seriously, Go Pack Go!

  2. Mom permalink
    February 4, 2011 12:57 am

    So glad you’re feeling better. I checked out the photos from Kroa i Bo. Thought maybe you’d be in the crowd. Didn’t see you but I did see the band members’ outfits! Have a great weekend and enjoy your trip to Oslo. Looks like a beautiful city. The Viking ship will be awesome. Make sure you take lots of pics. Oh and one more thing, GO PACK GO!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. marianne permalink
    February 4, 2011 1:48 pm

    What an adventure and to go to those other cities will be so much fun! I have always wanted to go to Brussels so take pics in case I do not make it. I can travel through you.

  4. Dad permalink
    February 4, 2011 8:45 pm

    Have fun in Oslo. GO PACKERS!!!

  5. Kendal DeGreef permalink
    February 8, 2011 9:36 pm

    not sure how you feel about this, but couchsurfing.com is a great option if the hostels are too expensive

Leave a Reply

