Skip to content

Super Bowl Party, Skiing, & Six Week Update

February 15, 2011

Hei Hei!

This post is long overdue. I’ve been busy this past week. The day after I got back from Oslo, we had a big Super Bowl party. Most of us cheered for the Green Bay Packers, but there were two (I won’t name names) Steelers fans in the crowd. It was a victory for the Wisconsinites! We somehow managed to stay awake until nearly 5 AM (the live broadcast started around 12:30 AM in Norway).

I’m posting a gallery of photos from the Super Bowl, skiing, and various food (since I find it interesting). From now on, I will be posting photos on my blog that do not appear on my Facebook. By doing this, I can avoid redundancy and repeat posts as well as motivate friends and family to read Up Norge.

Since pictures speak louder than words, I am going to let them talk for me today. I have a Norwegian (language) exam on Thursday, so my mind is rather busy at the moment. I shall write a better post either tomorrow or the next day. Click on the photos to enlarge and read the description.

During the normal commercial break times when the Super Bowl is on TV, the Norwegian broadcast features sports casters who explain the rules and regulations of American football (since it is not really played in Norway). Thus, instead of watching all of the neat advertisements, we got to watch a “how to understand American football” segment in Norwegian. Here is a video: the Norwegian talking in the background was someone we did not know who “crashed” our party. He was extremely loud and rude throughout the game, and he rooted for the Steelers. There were a couple of occasions where he threw his hat across the room.

I have also been doing a lot of skiing lately. It is such a rejuvenating activity. Skiing is physically trying, but so rewarding. Each time I ski, I find myself getting better and having more balance and strength. Plus, the scenery is amazing. Panorama of the landscape as we ski in Bø:

Also, please note that you can now visit Up Norge by pointing your web browser to www.wisconsingurl.com. Although, the old URL will still work just fine.

Lisa

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 15, 2011 10:10 pm

    Thanks for sharing all the wonderful pictures, esp of Bo (can’t get that little line thru the o -ASCII codes?? on my laptop). And the scenery you take in while skiing. You must pinch yourself every now and then, ja? Quite the hills you ski on. It looks really beautiful. Rema 1000 looks a bit like some of those grocery stores up north, like in St. Germain or Boulder J. And the snow in the parking lot looks very much like ours, maybe just a little more. Think how different it will look when the snow thaws.

    You didn’t miss any neat advertisements (in my opinion) during Superbowl. I probably would have enjoyed watching the Norwegian sportscasters. But Steeler fans??!! Now that was too bad.

    I do love the packaging of food in Norway. That chocolate milk carton IS adorable. Love the squirrel on your generic Nutella too (a picture from your food blog I believe). That’s very interesting. Do you think that they want to appeal to kids or is it just cute for no reason?

    Oh yes, the crosswalk signs. What a great color. It really stands out with all of the snow. You would not think of that color for signage on the road (our boring yellow). And yes, quite a dapper fellow, unlike our symbols.

    And what an adorable dish towel. See, you’re family is always thinking of you.

    Love,
    Mom

  2. February 15, 2011 10:34 pm

    I think some things are packaged to draw children’s attention, but other things are just cute for the sake of being cute. It has to do with the coziness of Norwegian culture.

  3. marianne permalink
    February 16, 2011 12:35 am

    The pictures are interesting and incredibly cold looking! Your trip to Oslo sounds cool and you seem to be enjoying your social events. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

